PDA

View Full Version : Preferred anti-virus program?

Evil Chris
06-27-2012, 09:49 AM
I've been a Norton user as long as I can remember and I'm due to re-new in a few days.

Should I just keep using it? $59.99 for 3 installs.

Anything better out there? Suggest please.

Paul&John
06-27-2012, 11:25 AM
Avast works fine for me.. was using NOD32 before that.

dizmo
06-27-2012, 12:40 PM
Shadow Defender, and MS security essentials just for the hell of it

Toby
06-27-2012, 01:20 PM
http://free.avg.com

artwilliams
06-27-2012, 01:57 PM
On my Linux laptop, nothing but on Windows I use Avast (http://www.avast.com/free-antivirus-download).

AbulletAway
06-27-2012, 01:57 PM
I was using avg for free for years. Then several months ago, I mentioned it on a thread and everyone came at me like I was so behind the times for still using it when everyone is using Avast now. So I have been using Avast now for those several months. It's free. Seems to use less system resources then avg. But, I kinda like AVG better.

djroof
06-27-2012, 02:06 PM
I don't use but most of my friends has Avast and some others Panda.

pc
06-27-2012, 02:16 PM
I've been using MS security essentials for the last few months and I think it works.
Before that I had Comodo and AVG, also good ones and free.

Oldguy
06-27-2012, 02:46 PM
Avast for years now

Evil Chris
06-27-2012, 03:00 PM
A lot of votes for Avast. I should look them up. Never tried them before.
I'm just a little fed up with paying Norton their $49.99 every year (3 installs)

Someone recommended Microsoft Security Essentials to me so I installed it on the two PCs in the house. I have to say, it was a quick and easy install and seems to take up way less in terms of system resources. It's completely free as well.

I may do the same for this machine (work laptop).

AVG and Avast... aren't they free for a limited time only and then you need to pay?

AbulletAway
06-27-2012, 03:28 PM
A lot of votes for Avast. I should look them up. Never tried them before.